Meet the NCIPH Interprofessional Leadership Team

The interprofessional leadership team (InPLT) is a national committee comprised of representatives from primary care and other health professions. The role of the InPLT is to develop interprofessional IH competencies and curricula for primary care, provide technical assistance and serve as the linkages to national and regional partner organizations.

Click the image to zoom

  • Chair: Ben Kligler, MD, MPH

    Vice Chair, Mount Sinai Beth Israel Department of Integrative Medicine

  • Principal Investigator: Patricia Lebensohn, MD

    Professor of Family and Community Medicine, Arizona Center for Integrative Medicine, University of Arizona

  • Project Director: Audrey Brooks, PhD

    Arizona Center for Integrative Medicine, University of Arizona

  • Academic Consortium for Integrative Medicine & Health: Maryanna Klatt, PhD, RYT

    Associate Professor, Department of Family Medicine, The Ohio State University College of Medicine

  • Preventive Medicine: Asim Jani, MD, MPH, FACP

    Director, CDC Preventive Medicine Residency and Fellowship, Team Lead for the Health Systems Integration Program

  • Family Medicine: Victoria Maizes, MD

    Executive Director, Arizona Center for Integrative Medicine, Professor of Clinical Medicine, Family Medicine and Public Health, University of Arizona

  • Internal Medicine: Ana Maria Lopez, MD, MPH, FACP

    Associate Vice President for Health Equity and Inclusion, University of Utah Health Sciences Center Director of Cancer Health Equity, Huntsman Cancer Institute Professor of Medicine, University of Utah School of Medicine

  • Pediatrics: Hilary McClafferty, MD

    Director, Pediatric Integrative Medicine in Residency, Arizona Center for Integrative Medicine, University of Arizona

  • Nursing: Mary Jo Kreitzer, PhD, RN, FAAN

    Director, Center for Spirituality & Healing, Professor, School of Nursing, University of Minnesota

  • Nursing: Mary S. Koithan, PhD, RN, CNS-BC, FAAN

    Associate Dean for Professional and Community Engagement, Associate Professor, University of Arizona College of Nursing

  • Pharmacy: Jeannie K Lee, PharmD, BCPS, CGP

    Department of Pharmacy Practice & Science, University of Arizona College of Pharmacy

  • Public Health: Doug Taren, PhD

    Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, Professor of Public Health, Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health, University of Arizona

  • Behavioral Health: Robert Rhode, PhD

    Adjunct lecturer in Department of Psychiatry, Arizona Health Sciences Center, University of Arizona

  • Academic Collaborative for Integrative Health (ACIH): Elizabeth Goldblatt, PhD, MPA/HA

    ACIH Chair, American College of Traditional Chinese Medicine (ACTCM) & Doctor of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (DAOM) Academic Council and Faculty

  • HRSA Project Officer: Irene Sandvold, DrPH, FACNM, FAAN

    Medical Training and Geriatrics Branch, Division of Medicine and Dentistry, Bureau of Health Workforce, Health Resources and Services Administration, Department of Health and Human Services

Work Group Contributors


  • Steve Given, DAOM, LAc
    Dean of Clinical Education, Director of Academic Assessment, American College of Traditional Chinese Medicine
  • Belinda Anderson, PhD, LAc
    Academic Dean and Research Director, Pacific College of Oriental Medicine (New York)
  • Stacy Gomes, EdD, MaEd
    Vice President Academic Affairs, Pacific College of Oriental Medicine, Board Member, Academic Collaborative for Integrative Health, Council of Colleges of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine
  • Mark S. McKenzie, LAc, MSOM
    Executive Director, ACAOM

Behavioral Health

  • Ronald R. O'Donnell, PhD
    Clinical Professor, College of Health Solutions, Doctor of Behavioral Health, Arizona State University
  • Colleen Clemency Cordes, PhD
    Director, Clinical Associate Professor, Doctor of Behavioral Health Program, College of Health Solutions, Arizona State University


  • Joseph Brimhall, DC
    President, University of Western States
  • Vincent F. De Bono, DC, CSCS
    Dean College of Chiropractic, Logan University
  • William Meeker, DC, MPH
    President, Palmer College of Chiropractic West Campus
  • John Scaringe, DC, EdD
    President/CEO, Southern California University of Health Sciences
  • Michael Wiles, DC, MEd, MS
    Dean of Clinics, Texas Chiropractic College


  • Grishondra Branch-Mays DDS, MS
    Director of Interprofessional Education, Associate Professor, Department of Developmental and Surgical Sciences, School of Dentistry, University of Minnesota
  • Todd Thierer DDS, MPH
    Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, Associate Professor, Department of Primary Dental Care, School of Dentistry, University of Minnesota


  • Marcia Prenguber, ND, FABNO
    Dean, College of Naturopathic Medicine, University of Bridgeport
  • JoAnn L. Yanez, ND, MPH
    Executive Director, Association of Accredited Naturopathic Medical Colleges
  • Rita Bettenburg MT, ND
    Private Practice, Affiliated with Southern California University of Health Sciences.
  • Paul Mittman, ND, EdD
    President / CEO, Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine & Health Sciences

Physician Assistants

  • Mary E. Von, DHEd, PA-C, DFAAPA
    Director/Associate Professor, Pacific University College of Health Professions, School of Physician Assistant Studies
  • Emily WhiteHorse MA Ed, PA-C
    Clinical Assistant Professor of Family Medicine, Keck School of Medicine of USC, University of Southern California, Division of Physician Assistant Studies
  • Judy Ortiz MHS, MS, PA-C
    Dean and Professor, College of Health Sciences, Director, School of Physician Assistant Studies, Marshall B. Ketchum University

Get Involved